DUI laws across the US are becoming more harsh, and Nebraska’s laws are no exception. Like all the other States, you will be found to be driving under the influence (DUI) in Nebraska if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is.08. However, in Nebraska, you can also be found to be driving under the influence if it’s proved you drove unsafely. The proof can be circumstantial evidence like blood-shot eyes, hazardous driving, and field sobriety tests. The consequence can be that your driver’s license is taken from you because of Nebraska’s Administrative License Revocation Law.
Nebraska’s tough DUI laws also extend to submitting to a BAC test, which uses your blood, breath, or urine to measure how much alcohol is in your system. If you refuse to submit to one of these tests, you may be charged with a gross misdemeanor or a felony equivalent to a first or second-degree Nebraska DUI. In addition, law enforcement will confiscate your driver’s license, which will be revoked for 30 days automatically. And you will be ineligible to receive a limited driver’s license during that period. However, you may be eligible for a limited license after the 30 days have elapsed, but only to travel to work, school, or a treatment program. And it will be mandatory that you install an ignition interlock device (IID) for the five-month duration of the limited license. But if your BAC was.15 or higher, the license-revocation period is 60 days before you can apply for the limited license, and an IID will be installed for a 10-month period of time.
Additionally, if your BAC was.15 or higher, your DUI sentence could be unprotected to enhanced, or aggravated, punishments. Other circumstances which would consequence in enhanced punishments include prior DUI convictions, the transportation of a child at the time of the DUI stop, reckless driving, speeding, or causing a DUI accident which resulted in injuries or character damage. If this is true with your particular DUI in Nebraska, you may want to seek the counsel of DUI defense lawyers. Because, whenever there are enhanced, multiple, or aggravated charges, or if a death, substantial injuries, and/or character damage occurred, your DUI punishments can become very substantial. These can consequence in years in jail, thousands of dollars of fines and restitution, the loss of your driver’s license and/or your means, perhaps permanently. Not only would this infringe on your ability to provide for your family, but it may affect your future ability to get a job. If, in the future, you are able to have a means, your car insurance rates will likely be very high. And it will be 12 long years before the conviction is erased from your DUI record.